Volvo 240 Turbo Project

Discussion in 'The Welcome Wagon' started by schaff70, Nov 14, 2012.

1. schaff70

schaff70 New Member

I thought I'd share my 'hot rod' Volvo 240 factory turbo/intercooled wagon.

I've been building this wagon for the past 5 years & finally (with some good help) finished it last spring.
    B21FT engine w. factory forged internals, .60 trim garrett turbo, 3" stainless turbo back exhaust w. Magnaflow muffler, Koni red adjustable shocks in back, Bilstein HD struts up front on unknown brand lowering springs and Kaplhenke camber plates. OMP stress bar with Volvo strut to firewall braces, Borbet 16" copper painted wheels & Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 205/50/16's.
    You may have seen it at the 2012 Carlisle Import Nationals this year where it made the 800 mile round trip only 1 month after putting it back together.

Here's a before picture:

[​IMG]

how it sits now:
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

So far the car has been a lot of fun. I've taken it on several road trips to car shows this summer/fall including a trip to Atlantic City, NJ, H2Oi in Ocean City, MD and just a couple weeks ago I made a 1300 mile round trip to drive the Tail of the Dragon in Deals Gap, NC (318 turns in 11 miles)

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

I'm moving to Houston in a couple weeks & I'll tow the car out with my 4Runner. Once I get settled in I'm going to do some more work to the car including a build head, cam, bigger turbo, 3" intercooler and more suspension work. I have plans to take it to the January Cars & Coffee in Houston.

-Todd

2. 1tireman

1tireman Well-Known Member

Wagon Garage:
    Great intro, Welcome aboard!

3. Eagle Freek

Eagle Freek Well-Known Member

That's a sharp Volvo.

4. Dewey Satellite

Dewey Satellite New Member

Wagon Garage:
    Super cool Volvo Todd!! Love all the mods you did to it! :Welcome:

5. AK27

AK27 Well-Known Member

Welcome schaff70! Nice car!

6. wagonmaster

wagonmaster Administrator Staff Member Moderator

Wagon Garage:
    Sharp Volvo!

7. fannie