Rear sway bar for '91-'96 GM B-body wagons

Discussion in 'General Automotive Tech' started by Moparman, Sep 19, 2011.

1. Moparman

Moparman New Member

These big wagons never came with a rear sway bar option. I'll never understand why. And since the rear axle is a few inches wider than the sedan, you can't just bolt on a sedan bar (which mounts to the lower control arms). This bit of hot-rodding was invented by someone else on a different site, but a web crash lost the original thread. I recreated it for posterity. The usual caveats apply, I'm not a lawyer or an automotive engineer, do this at your own risk, you'll die if you do this, I warned you not to, etc. etc. But the handling improvement is incredible. Moderators, I posted this originally on another site, and I hope I'm not breaking any rules by reposting it here. If I am, let me know.

Sway Bar: Ford YW7Z-5A772-CA
    End Links: Energy Suspension 9.8125 ENS-9-8125R
    Bushings: Energy Suspension 9.5157 ENS-9-5157G
    3” exhaust clamps: Summit SUM-G4730 SUM-G4730

I think the above parts came to maybe $100. I ordered the sway bar new from gentryfordparts.com but any online Ford will do.

This shows the muffler clamps as the pivot/bushing mount on the axle, and the relationship of the end link to the frame. I changed mine to go into the crossbracing U-channel next to it for an even more solid mount.

[​IMG]

Completed, you can hardly even see it's there. No loss of ground clearance.

[​IMG]

I think this took me all of 30 minutes to install, when I originally bolted the end links into that slotted frame brace. Drilling holes into the U-channel was a bit of a chore, but was a simple task. I bought a used WS 6 1-1/4" bar from a Second Gen. Firebird/Camaro and put it up front. It's geometry isn't ideal but it works.

This 4,400 lb wagon now feels more like a sport sedan.

If anybody has any questions for clarification, just post and I'll answer them.

2. FamilyTruckster91

FamilyTruckster91 New Member