Whitewall tires

Discussion in 'General Station Wagon Discussions' started by Hotrodtodd, Sep 24, 2018.

1. Hotrodtodd

Hotrodtodd New Member

I am planning to replace the tires on my new 87 Country Squire (the tires on it are original!) with new whitewalls.
    Any recommendations on better value than others out there? I see a whole range of whitewalls from $60 a piece to $300. Since the tire is the only part of the vehicle that actually touches the road, I do believe it is a wise investment to spend on better quality, but if the quality and ride is similar I would select the cheaper option.
    Thanks for your insight!

2. dmfconsult

dmfconsult Well-Known Member

I recently put Matrix Multi-Mile tires on my big Electra as the white wall width seemed a bit wider then the few other brands of white walls that are available. These are available off the rack, so I didn't have to spend the big bucks to get Diamond Back or Coker tires. I've been running them for 2 years now without any issues and they are a nice comfortable and quiet tire. I think Hankook Optimo H724 still have a white wall tire option, but the white wall was a bit narrow for me and I didn't like he look of the sidewall generally (plus they were slightly more expensive).

3. Krash Kadillak

Krash Kadillak Well-Known Member

Wagon Garage:
    You might want to double-check on availability of whitewalls...in YOUR CORRECT SIZE.

I did a bit of checking some time ago, and found that 225/75R15 was available as a whitewall from a couple of manufacturers, but if you wanted to go to a lower-profile 70-series 235/70R15, you were pretty much out of luck unless you wanted to pay $300 per tire for some Avons.........

4. dmfconsult

dmfconsult Well-Known Member

5. 1tireman

1tireman Well-Known Member

Wagon Garage:
    I'm showing factory size on those to be either a 215/70R15 or a 205/75R15, not sure if that is correct or not but some I know of and sell regularly are: