Headlight problem 89 Country Squire

Discussion in 'General Automotive Tech' started by twodresq51, Aug 24, 2014.

1. twodresq51

twodresq51 New Member

This problem just started in the last few days. If I try to turn on my headlights they don't work. Also there is A buzzing noise coming from somewhere inside the dash.
    If I push the headlight switch in A little bit they will come on, but don't stay on. this happens on auto on function also. The parking lights always come on and work fine. I'm stumped, anyone ever experience this problem. How did you fix it????:banghead3::mad:

2. whiskey runner

whiskey runner Active Member

i dont know much about these newer cars.. old cars i know the wiring like the back of my hand.. but with the buzzing coming from under the dash i was thinking maybe some headlight time delay relay or something to do with that system

3. Glide-Aways

Glide-Aways Well-Known Member

Wagon Garage:
    I'm not an electrician, not even a Ford guy, but I'm wondering if you might have a short somewhere in the switch's wiring..?

As for the buzzer, does your wagon have the feature where it reminds the driver to turn off the headlights once the engine is turned off and the driver's door opens? I recall of my dad's '83 CE had this feature. I mention this in the event you might be trouble shooting this with both the ignition off and the door open..?

4. ModelT1

ModelT1 Still Lost in the 50's

Wagon Garage:
    I'm not an electrician, not even a Ford guy, and don't know anything about newer cars. But my answer is to replace the headlight switch.

Also as whiskey runner mentioned I remember cars that had a warning buzzer if I left the headlights on. Have you ever had that happen before? I'd bet that's the buzzing sound happening because the switch is out and the key is off.

5. MikeT1961

MikeT1961 Well-Known Member