Damages to '86 Colony Park

Discussion in 'Cosmetic & Restoration' started by LeonLinton, Oct 21, 2021.

1. LeonLinton

LeonLinton Member

Absolute novice coming through!
    In my hunt for my first wagon, the best vehicle I have come across seems to be a 1986 Mercury Colony Park. I messaged the seller requesting more photos and, after having received and studied them, I have noticed a few scratches in the woodgrain:
    20.jpg 13.jpg

Is this reparable without having to spend a lot of money on woodgrain for the whole car when the damage is just here? What can I do to fix this?

I feel sort of stupid for asking this question, but I saw what I thought was a scratch, but am now starting to think is just part of the car - please can someone confirm?
    19.jpg

I also noticed this, but I don't actually really know what it is - please feel free to inform me what this is and what I can do!
    14.jpg

Thanks you've all been such a help through the beginnings of my longroof affairs!

2. ArnieM888

ArnieM888 Well-Known Member

I am retired autobody guy and have changed plenty of woodgrain back in the day ..... replacement woodgrain came from the factory in standard rolls .... one roll would do a door or fender etc .... always some left over because the basic roll could do a long 1/4 panel etc .

If you were lucky and could find an old school bodyshop they would have some remnants you could use.

Carefully remove the old stuff with a heat gun .... peel it off .... dont scrape it or damage the underlying paint .... woodgrain is partially transparent and base paint shows through.