Best way to remove wood grain

Discussion in 'Woodgrain' started by steeldane81, Jul 8, 2011.

1. steeldane81

steeldane81 New Member

Wagon Garage:
    I didn't see one of the topics that covered this so I thought I'd ask. My last wagon didn't have any wood at all, so I'm totally new to the wood grain.

One of the two I'm looking at buying has a LOT of it, and I'd rather remove it and just have paint. What's the best way to remove old wood grain without harming the paint underneath, or making it harder than is necessary?

Also, it's a 1988 Country Squire. The front and rear bumpers have a bunch of that black plastic/rubber on them, and I prefer a clean chrome bumper. Can I just remove the black? I haven't been able to find a picture of how that would look. Or, would it be easier/better looking to just get bumpers from an older model and try to change them out?

2. KevinVarnes

KevinVarnes Well-Known Member

Wagon Garage:
    I've never removed woodgrain myself, but a heat gun is a tool you will need to become familiar with.

For the bumpers, I'm pretty sure you'll have holes behind the rubber bump strips. You can't really put the older style bumpers on (well the rear stayed the old style which looks weird when matched with the newer rounded front end in my opinion) without having it look weird. I supposed you could swap the header panel out to the older style header panel and then use the older bumper. I personally prefer the newer rounded front end to the sharp corners on the older front end.

3. silverfox

silverfox New Member

Wagon Garage: