4 Speed swap in wood grain wagon!

Discussion in 'Station Wagon Projects' started by cutlassmike, Dec 3, 2019.

1. cutlassmike

cutlassmike nothing is easy, everything is hard.

Well, I never thought when I was a kid that I would be at the point in my life where I would be looking at a 1988 full sized, 4 door, wood grain clad, white, 8 passenger wagon and saying "Dam that's sweet". But here I am.

My name is Mike, but I go by CutlassMike. I'm a hobby builder out of Winnipeg MB Canada. I have had and still have a number of cars with a recurring theme; 1968 Camaro with a Richmond ROD 6 speed, 1928 Henry Roadster with a M20, 1984 Cutlass with a M20 {my name sake}, 1959 Bel-Air 2 door hard top with a T56 {Canadian model}, 1964 Merc Parklane with a factory Super T10. Yep, I like manuals. All frame off resto-mod builds.

I have 1 wife, 3 daughters and 3 dogs... It seemed time for a wagon. LOL Found this white 1988 Caprice Classic Estate on my local buy-and-sell. Went to look at it expecting condition equal to that of a derby car. Found it to be in EXCELLENT original shape. Original paint, wood grain, interior and trim all in fantastic condition Albeit the headliner was sagging. Some one in the cars past had swapped the original 307 Olds for a 403 Olds so that it would be more conducive to towing his fishing boat. Put on a class 2, 1.5" and he used it. Knda smart as the 307 and 403 are identical from the outside.