The 8-Track

Discussion in 'Cosmetic & Restoration' started by Jairus, Sep 30, 2011.

1. Jairus

Jairus Well-Known Member

Wagon Garage:
    I have been buying and listening to 8-track cartridges since 1973. Indeed still own the majority of tapes I purchased back then till today and thought this a good subject thread for restoration.

My current daily driver, a 1958 Ford wagon, has a great working tape player that I found at the Goodwill! (How cool is that?)
    [​IMG]
    It is a Kraco brand made in Japan sometime back in the early 70's. It also includes an FM receiver which leaves the stock AM radio unmolested, thank goodness. (subject for future restoration)

Very simple to install with only 4 wires to hook up and a piece of mild steel for the bracket.
    Tapes should be stored in a proper storage device and not the glove box!
    Because not only do they take up a lot of space but the jocky box needs to be kept free for passenger registration, insurance cards, business cards and old parking tickets. Beside... you might need to swap tapes and that requires something to CARRY them around in. So keep your eyes open at garage sales and flea markets for good quality storage devices. (I have 300+ tapes... you think I carry all of them in the car at the same time?)
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Of course appropriate foot wear should always be worn when driving a vintage wagon...
    [​IMG]

Anyway, back to the 8-track.
    It's a pretty good bet that most of the members of this forum own a vehicle made from 1965 to 1979. It was during those years that our blessed long roof wagons had the option of the 8-track installed and many of us owners probably poked a fat finger under the spring loaded door wondering what all the fuss was about. Right?